abetterme33's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

m

I was confused as heck today when I came into work.
Every Wednesday there is a manager meeting at the Nampa clinic.
I was brought into the manager meeting when I arrived.

I felt strangely out of place as I saw familiar faces gathered together in a different setting. It through me off a little.

"You're finally coming over to our side," Shawn said. (They usually say this in trying to convince me to become a social worker. "Did someone tell them I'm getting my Master's in Social Work?" I had to ask myself. "Geeze, I hope not.")

"Huh?" I stood confused.

Mike said something I could not comprehend with a smiley face. Mike is the drug and alcohol coordinator and my former supervisor before he hooked me up with my job with Sabrina.

"Is Sabrina finally paying you?" someone else said.

"Yeah, Megan is getting paid now," Shawn said.

"So I don't have to fill out a new employee form?" Sharonica asked, "Are you an employee now, Megan?"

"Sort of," I replied.

"Yeah, she is an employee now," Shawn said again but no one seemed to hear her.

"Have you gotten a paycheck with your name on it yet?" someone asked me.

"Yeah," I shook my head.

"See, I told you so," Shawn said again. Still, no one seemed to hear.

"So you are an employee now," someone else said.

Then Mike said some other stuff I couldn't understand and then Sharonica lead me out to take a tour of the clinic.

A few hours later I was sitting in my office for the day when Mike came in and asked if I was enjoying myself yet.

He always asks this and I always give him an answer that is a little sarcastic but in a way that is not too snippity. I do not want to appear I am not grateful.

"So Sabrina is finally paying you?"

"Yeah," I replied, "It's very nice of her."

"We've been talking about that for a while."

"Wait, you have?"

"Yeah."

I remembered sitting in my office one day in the winter when Mike walked by and said, "We're thinking about keeping you," but I had no idea what he meant at the time.

"Wait, it was you, wasn't it!?!"

He gave a modest smile confirming that he indeed suggested that I start getting paid.

I told Sabrina, "You know, she works her ASS off, maybe you should think about start paying her."

"Oh, my gosh, thank you, Mike," I was overwhelmed with gratitude.

"You know, she was iffy about you at first but I said, trust me, I [have a good feeling about this girl]."

"Yeah, I know, she seemed like she was unsure of me at first but I hope she likes me now."

"She loves you."

He told me that I have helped Sabrina immensely in the concourse of her dissertation.

This guy hired me in October of last year and added me to an elusive group of interns, there were only three others. This agency is very selective.

He admired my gusto, the fact that I just do things for the sake of personal enrichment.

A year later, he got me my job with Sabrina which just might be the best internship a young undergraduate could ask for. It's a dream job even though it is quite fatiguing at times.

What other intern's boss buys them a computer to use in their personal office?
What other boss would let me have complete access to her office when she's not even there? At all?
One day she sent me to Chevron to buy her a pack of cigarettes with a 50 dollar bill and she let me keep the change?
Plus coffee and oatmeal from Starbucks.
My Christmas gift?

And she lets me bull crap with her. I have the best job in the world.

But I can't forget Mike got it for me.

...And now Mike is the reason I'm getting paid.

But it's funny because it was arranged that I'm getting paid for administrative work. However, I think it's been discussed that I'm going to start getting paid for my research work in the summer but it's supposed to be a surprise for me...that I think everyone kind of ruined today, haha. That's okay. :)

10:57 p.m. - 2010-05-05

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

2 Corinthians 2, 7-8:

...Contrariwise ye ought rather to forgive him, and comfort him, lest perhaps such a one should be swallowed up with overmuch sorrow.

Wherefore I beseech you that ye would confirm your love toward him.

Romans 15, 1

We then that are strong ought to bear the infirmities of the weak, and not to please ourselves.

deleted the other thing

m

arizona bound, kids.

BIBLE 005 (more blackfoot)

BIBLE 004 (blackfoot 2)

friends:

grapecloud
lust-