abetterme33's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

arizona bound, kids.


Arizona bound, kids.

I'm finally ready to apply to graduate school.
I could have graduated last year Dr. Henderson but I think I was too scared.
I think I added on a sociology degree to give me another year of procrastination on top of this one, but I realize it's gotten a little ridiculous.

I've been helping the CEO of this mental health facility work on her dissertation through Walden.
It's probably the most work I have ever attempted to do in my life. I've been with her since the very start and the literature review was 150 pages.
However, I realize it's tons of work but it's not that scary, and if that's the hardest thing in graduate school, I'm not scared at all. I know what to expect.

I think I get scared when I'm not sure how things are going to go but I got a little bit of a sneak peak and I'm not so scared anymore.

I'm applying to my school of choice this year and if I don't get in, I'll just work harder and actually have a legitimate reason to stick around.

The school I'm applying to has a master's program and a doctorate program in the same degrees.

Is it better to apply to the master's program first and apply to the doctorate program after I've already completed the coursework or should I just apply strait into the doctoral program?

This is the first school I've looked at that is set up like this.

What do you recommend?

Thank you Dr. H,

Megan

---------------------------

Apply for the Ph.D. program, but be sure you understand how they advance, because some programs will have you apply first to the Master and then bump you up to the ph.D.

OOOOOOOOOOOOOHHHHHHHHHHHH so exciting - is this the program you were telling me about?

Dr. Henderson

--------------------------

Hi Dr. Henderson,

The program isn't the specific one I was telling you about. This program is in educational psychology and I've been focusing on social psychology lately.

I am passionate about educational psychology but I have been struggling to find schools that offer programs I am interested in. Nearly every educational psychology program I have looked at from the APA's publication of graduate schools in psychology fit the descriptors of school psychology and I'm not interested in school psychology. I want to study learning, cognition, and motivation in the context of lifespan development. However, it seemed as if a program like this did not exist so I started to look at other fields that interest me.

I've always found social psychology fascinating and I found two professor's who's work I vastly admire at the University of VIrginia so I have been debating about applying there. I have also considered a two-year tour in the Peace Corps. I haven't been 100% committed to either of these decisions and I hate pursuing anything unless I feel a strong conviction in doing so.

It wasn't until recently that I found the Mary Lou Foulton Institute and Graduate School of Education at Arizona State University in Tempe. They have four programs that fall under their division of educational psychology: Learning; Lifespan Developmental Psychology; Measurement, Statistics & Methodological Studies; and School Psychology.

The learning and lifespan development programs fulfil my interests. The learning program focuses on theoretical and empirical issues in cognition and learning. The lifespan development program focuses on an applied developmental science model of learning in children and adults in social settings.

I emailed a professor at ASU about what they are looking for in desirable applicants. He emailed me back informing me that he is retiring but is forwarding my message to the professor that is taking his place. After receiving a reply I'll decide whether to apply this winter or not.

Do you think you could write me a letter of recommendation when I apply whether it's this year or next? I would be honored if you'd be one of my letter writers.

-Megan

8:55 p.m. - 2009-12-03

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

2 Corinthians 2, 7-8:

...Contrariwise ye ought rather to forgive him, and comfort him, lest perhaps such a one should be swallowed up with overmuch sorrow.

Wherefore I beseech you that ye would confirm your love toward him.

Romans 15, 1

We then that are strong ought to bear the infirmities of the weak, and not to please ourselves.

deleted the other thing

m

arizona bound, kids.

BIBLE 005 (more blackfoot)

BIBLE 004 (blackfoot 2)

friends:

grapecloud
lust-